First Offense DUI in Boston
Boston Drunk Driving Attorneys Representing People Charged With Their First Offense
Have you been arrested for operating under the influence (OUI) in the state of Massachusetts? Even if this is your first drunk driving offense, you face serious penalties, including up to a $5,000 fine, a suspended driver’s license and possible jail time. At the Coughlin Law Group, we provide an aggressive defense against this serious charge.
We are available 24/7. Call 617-758-8888 to schedule a free consultation with a Boston DUI/DWI/OUI defense attorney.
Massachusetts First DUI Offense Laws
In Massachusetts, it is illegal to drive if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is .08 percent or higher. It is also illegal to drive under the influence of marijuana, narcotics or other drugs.
The penalties for a first offense can be serious. First, your license will be suspended. The suspension of your license is automatic upon your arrest. In order to reinstate your license, you must go through the administrative process and request a hearing before the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles. Our attorneys can help you though this process and help you protect your right to drive.
If convicted, the law requires $500 to $5,000 in fines, the suspension of your license for one year, and up to 2.5 years imprisonment. However, an alternative disposition is available under the law. Under this alternative sentencing, you could face two years probation and the loss of your license for 45 to 90 days. You will be required to follow the terms of your probation, which may require participation in an alcohol awareness program and community service.
Zealous Defense in all Aspects of Your Case
Operating under the influence, more commonly referred to as driving under the influence (DUI), is not a cut-and-dry case as many people believe. Depending on the facts of the case, everything from the initial reason for the traffic stop to the way the breath test or blood test was administered may be challenged.
At the Coughlin Law Group, our lawyers are committed to providing a strong defense. We will fight your charges at trial, or if you do not wish to fight your charges at trial, we will negotiate with prosecutors to reduce your charges or minimize penalties. Additionally, we will represent you at hearings and appeals with the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles to help reinstate your driving privileges.
Do not face a drunk driving charge alone. If this is your first offense, we may suggest you plead guilty in order to accept probation over more serious OUI/DUI/DWI penalties. However, in some cases it makes sense to aggressively fight the charge and seek a dismissal of the case. We will pursue the best possible option in your case.
Contact Our New England OUI/DUI Defense Law Firm
Call 617-758-8888 to schedule a free initial consultation with an experienced Boston DUI attorney at the Coughlin Law Group, or contact our Massachusetts firm online.